Raspberry Jam

Well, this year unfortunately was not a great strawberry year for the farmers, so unless the u-picks are good and we get a chance to get to them, alas another year goes by without my strawberry jam and strawberry rhubarb preserves.
To combat this sadness, I’ve bought a good dozen or so of strawberry plants to hopefully provide myself with enough over the years to supply my own strawberries for those endeavours.

On a whole other note though, the raspberries were once again good for the farmer we get our fruits from, so I was able to purchase a flat (about 8 pounds) of raspberries that were picked a few days before for jam at a very reasonable price.

So at least were not deprived of strawberry and raspberry jam this year! Still though, it’s been so long since we’ve last had strawberry, I’m finding that the raspberry isn’t quite as exciting as it once was…

Here’s the recipe that I have found to be my favourite for raspberry, I’ve added some of my own twists to the original recipe that I find helps boost the flavour profile of the raspberries and makes it a bit more of a fresher taste than a heavier sugar taste that can often result with homemade jams.

Gone Wild Farmhouse, Raspberry Jam

8 lbs. / 3.629 kg. fresh raspberries
5 lbs. 7oz. / 2.471 kg. white sugar
3, zest and juice of fresh lemons

In a very large pot (I use our stock pot) place the raspberries in with the sugar, stir together to coat the berries and leave no sugar lumps. Let this sit for 1-2 hours to render out some of the juices.

Place the pot on the stovetop and start to bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Add in the lemon zest and juice and stir around. Boil the mixture, stirring frequently, until jelling occurs. I prefer doing the spoon test where you watch it drip but if your not comfortable determining the thickness of your jam that way, you can check using a chilled dish and dropping some in; Let that chill and check the thickness that way, you want it to mound or if you run your finger through for it to remain fairly cleared.

Remove the pot from the stovetop and ladle the jam into pint or half-pint jars. I prefer half-pints myself, which I get about 21 jars out of this recipe. Clean the jar edges from jam debris, and then place the pre-heated lids (let them sit staggered in hot water for 5-10 minutes) and rings (fingertip tight, no tighter!) and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes at sea level.

Remove your jars from the bath and let sit for 12 hours on a towel upright, with the water on the lids gently removed.

Voila! Delicious homemade jams to enjoy and gift out.

IMG_2323

Leave a Reply

