Farmhouse Blueberry Jam

Blueberry season is upon us, and one of my favourite past times is going blueberry picking every year with my mom. This year is a bit different, as Tim and I now have a little baby boy so we’ll see. I’m not sure how simple it’ll be with a 4 month old strapped in the carrier while I attempt to wrestle blueberries from huge bushes in the sun. Not ideal for him I don’t think. So unless a day is wonderfully cloudy and the blueberry farm is open (and I have the time) were gonna have to wait and see if it actually happens or not.

Anyway, on another note, one of my favourite jams to eat is (you guessed it)  blueberry! So, today I am sharing my recipe for making it. Really it’s almost more of a blueberry citrus but no one needs to know that little secret. They’ll just taste the jam and say “Mmmm, how wonderful!” 😉

I had found some local blueberries (pre-picked) at an affordable price, so I decided to get some for jam in case I never made it out blueberry picking. This way, no matter what I will get my jam!

Farmhouse Blueberry Jam

4lbs. 4oz Fresh Blueberries
2lbs. 3oz. White or Organic Sugar
2 Lemons, Zest and Juice
Good Pinch of Salt

In a Large Saucepan (8t. pot at least) heat all ingredients to a boil, boiling for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, cover with a towel and let sit at room temperature for 8-12 hours.

Return to heat and bring to a boil, boiling and stirring frequently until jelling occurs. Ladle into hot jars, seal, and process in a hot water bath for 10 minutes. Let sit 12 hours undisturbed.

Enjoy!

 

IMG_1989IMG_1991

Leave a Reply

